Industrial Decarbonisation Research and Innovation Centre (IDRIC)

Lead Research Organisation: Heriot-Watt University
Department Name: Sch of Engineering and Physical Science


The decarbonisation of industrial clusters is of critical importance to the UK's ambitions of cutting greenhouse gas emissions to net zero by 2050. The UK Industrial Decarbonisation Challenge (IDC) of the Industrial Strategy Challenge Fund (ISCF) aims to establish the world's first net-zero carbon industrial cluster by 2040 and at least one low-carbon cluster by 2030.

The Industrial Decarbonisation Research and Innovation Centre (IDRIC) has been formed to support this Challenge through funding a multidisciplinary research and innovation centre, which currently does not exist at the scale, to accelerate decarbonisation of industrial clusters.

IDRIC works with academia, industry, government and other stakeholders to deliver the multidisciplinary research and innovation agenda needed to decarbonise the UK's industrial clusters. IDRIC's research and innovation programme is delivered through a range of activities that enable industry-led, multidisciplinary research in cross-cutting areas of technology, policy, economics and regulation.

IDRIC connects and empowers the UK industrial decarbonisation community to deliver an impactful innovation hub for industrial decarbonisation. The establishment of IDRIC as the "one stop shop" for research and innovation, as well as knowledge exchange, regulation, policy and key skills will be beneficial across the industry sectors and clusters.
In summary, IDRIC will connect stakeholders, inspire and deliver innovation and maximise impact to help the UK industrial clusters to grow our existing energy intensive industrial sectors, and to attract new, advanced manufacturing industries of the future.




M Mercedes Maroto-Valer (Principal Investigator)
Patrick Devine-Wright (Co-Investigator)
Yulong Ding (Co-Investigator)
Janie Ling Chin (Co-Investigator)
Frank Willem Geels (Co-Investigator)
John Irvine (Co-Investigator) orcid
Benjamin Sovacool (Co-Investigator)
Joseph Mark Howe (Co-Investigator)
Alan Guwy (Co-Investigator)
Jonathan Radcliffe (Co-Investigator) orcid
Nicholas Pidgeon (Co-Investigator)
Mohamed Pourkashanian (Co-Investigator)
Yannis Hardalupas (Co-Investigator)
John Andresen (Co-Investigator)
Mijndert Willem Van Der Spek (Co-Investigator) orcid
David Worsley (Co-Investigator)
Peter Taylor (Co-Investigator)
Susana Garcia Lopez (Co-Investigator)
Edward Hough (Co-Investigator)
Nigel Peter Brandon (Co-Investigator)
John Paul Martin Trusler (Co-Investigator)
Maxine Carole Akhurst (Co-Investigator)
Damon Andrew Teagle (Co-Investigator) orcid
Phil Renforth (Co-Investigator)
Philip Bowen (Co-Investigator)
Jon Maddy (Co-Investigator)
Gail Taylor (Co-Investigator) orcid
Clair Gough (Co-Investigator) orcid
Anthony Paul Roskilly (Co-Investigator)
Marcelle Claire McManus (Co-Investigator)
Anna Korre (Co-Investigator) orcid
Andrew Ross Barron (Co-Investigator)
Dimitrios Christopoulos (Co-Investigator) orcid
N Dawood (Co-Investigator)
Heather Jane McGregor (Co-Investigator) orcid
Neil Strachan (Co-Investigator)
Sevket Durucan (Co-Investigator)
Jonathan Mark Pearce (Co-Investigator)
Nilay Shah (Co-Investigator) orcid
Lindsay-Marie Armstrong (Co-Investigator)
Matthew Frank Lockwood (Co-Investigator)


10 25 50