DTP 2020-2021 Swansea University

Lead Research Organisation: Swansea University
Department Name: Research and Innovation


True to the vision of its industrial founders determined in 1920, Swansea University delivers world-class research with global, societal impact, drives economic growth in the region and nationally and retains a fixed focus upon providing an inspirational and outstanding student experience.

In particular, postgraduate research (PGR) is an integral aspect of the University's vision for its long-term future. It has an ambitious plan for growth, improvement to the research environment and support for PGR students, as set out in our Research & Innovation Strategy (2017-2020): http://bit.ly/SwanRIStrategy

The EPSRC Doctoral Training Partnership (DTP) 2020-2021 enables Swansea University to expand its training and support of the next generation of researchers across Engineering and the Physical Sciences, through pioneering fields as diverse as antimatter and quantum technologies in healthcare, to the design of the Bloodhound supersonic car and photovoltaic devices. The EPSRC DTP investment supports approximately 24 studentships per year for new doctoral researchers, and enables the University to continue to enhance its strong track record of collaborative partnerships with industry and academia. Swansea is committed to distributing these opportunities to disciplines that align both with EPSRC's priority areas and with the University's research strengths. Studentships will be available in and across the boundaries of three disciplines: Engineering, Science (including Mathematics) and Medicine.

College of Engineering: is based at Swansea University's £450M Bay Campus (opened in 2015), featuring four buildings dedicated to engineering with high-tech laboratories and world-class facilities geared towards industrial research. The College hosts the Materials and Manufacturing Academy (M2A) (a Centre for Doctoral Training fully funded by EPSRC, WEFO and industry) and the EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training (CDT) in Functional Industrial Coatings (from October 2019), the world-leading Energy Safety Research Institute and the Zienkiewicz Centre for Computational Engineering.

College of Science: integrates research in Physics, Chemistry (reinstated in 2017/18), Computer Science, Mathematics, Biosciences and Geography. Phase 2 of the Bay Campus development includes the Computational Foundry (opened in 2018), a £31M investment to nurture and grow a dedicated community of computational and mathematical scientists, including (from October 2019) the EPSRC CDT in Enhancing Collaborations and Interactions with Data and Intelligence Driven Systems. The College of Science also leads the UKRI CDT in Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning and Advanced Computing.

Medical School: enhances the portfolio of Engineering and Physical Sciences at Swansea through the £22M Centre for Nanohealth, a unique open access interdisciplinary research centre bringing together industry experts with researchers in Science, Engineering and Medicine to lead innovations in healthcare. The Medical School also comprises the £8M purpose-built Data Science Building, which serves as a hub for interdisciplinary research into health services, bioscience, epidemiology, computer science, mathematics and physics, and the £3M EPSRC UK National Mass Spectrometry Facility, which provides comprehensive analytical mass spectrometry services.

Typically, EPSRC DTP studentships are advertised from September with decisions usually made by February/March. Details of PhD projects and specific timescales for applying can be found here: http://www.swansea.ac.uk/postgraduate/scholarships/research/

General information about applying for doctoral study at Swansea University is available here: http://www.swansea.ac.uk/postgraduate/apply/

Prospective supervisors should contact their local Director of Postgraduate Research in the first instance: Professor David Penney (Engineering), Drs James Cronin and Martin Clift (Medicine) and Professor Maurizio Piai (Science).


10 25 50

Studentship Projects

Project Reference Relationship Related To Start End Student Name
EP/T517987/1 30/09/2020 29/09/2025
2442204 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2020 29/09/2023 Alexander Drysdale
2433594 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2020 29/09/2023 John Hudson
2434408 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2020 29/09/2023 Edward Thorpe Woods
2442205 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2020 31/03/2024 Ben Smith
2435018 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2020 29/09/2023 Kira Pugh
2442209 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2020 29/09/2024 Peter Angerman
2442213 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2020 29/09/2024 Megan Wiggins
2442208 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2020 29/09/2024 Thomas Mahy
2442212 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2020 31/03/2024 James Moat
2433502 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2020 29/09/2023 Aaron cookson
2442202 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2020 29/09/2023 Eugenio Muttio Zavala
2442206 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2020 29/09/2024 Rebecca Griffin
2441795 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2020 29/09/2023 Pushpa Pandey
2434977 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2020 29/09/2023 Rafal Gajewski
2511798 Studentship EP/T517987/1 01/01/2021 31/12/2024 Daniela Segura Galeana
2492985 Studentship EP/T517987/1 01/01/2021 31/12/2024 Kristian Ions
2492554 Studentship EP/T517987/1 01/01/2021 31/03/2024 Anna Bachs Herrera
2522121 Studentship EP/T517987/1 31/03/2021 30/03/2025 Callum Lock
2573181 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/06/2021 29/06/2025 Matthew Bedding
2573163 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/06/2021 31/12/2024 Georgia Scott
2600510 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2021 29/09/2025 Zaid Haymoor
2602452 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2021 29/09/2024 Emilio Nuñez Andrade
2600440 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2021 29/09/2025 Louis Giron
2604828 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2021 30/03/2025 Gianmarco Melone
2609973 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2021 29/09/2025 Deepak George
2601058 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2021 30/03/2025 Prakhar Sharma
2603319 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2021 29/09/2025 Niamh Fagan
2600792 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2021 29/09/2025 Matthew Jennings
2605757 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2021 30/03/2025 Denise De Meijer
2601049 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2021 29/09/2025 Zachary Lowther
2600863 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2021 29/09/2025 Sarah Stock
2601026 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2021 29/09/2025 Nigel Koungampillil
2602650 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2021 29/09/2024 Nicholas Burridge
2601288 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2021 30/03/2025 Lucy Hart
2602423 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2021 29/09/2024 Chadaphorn Punkumkerd
2602639 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2021 29/09/2024 Joe Roberts
2604568 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2021 29/09/2025 Samuel Ross
2646192 Studentship EP/T517987/1 01/01/2022 31/12/2025 Mohammed Kamran
2676073 Studentship EP/T517987/1 31/03/2022 29/09/2025 Sandrine Charles
2717098 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/06/2022 29/06/2025 Aneurin Haynes
2717469 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/06/2022 29/06/2025 Phoebe May
2748735 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2022 30/03/2026 Eloise Smith
2893928 Studentship EP/T517987/1 30/09/2023 29/09/2026 Shimra Ahmed